Time to Apply for Your Homestead Exemption

Blog Post Image
Real Estate

If you purchased a home as a primary residence last year, don't forget to apply for your Homestead Exemption. You must apply after you have lived in the home as of Jan 1st and must submit before April 30th.

What is a Homestead Exemption?
Homestead exemptions are granted by the county appraisal district where the property is located. The exemption
reduces a homeowner’s property tax bill by removing part of the home's value from taxation. All Texas homeowners may
receive a General Residence Homestead Exemption of $25,000 on the value of their property for school taxes. Other
taxing entities may also offer exemptions of some percentage of the home’s value. Other exemptions are available to
homeowners who are over 65 or disabled, and require the same application process.

Who qualifies?
These requirements must be met to receive the exemption:
1. You must own your home on January 1st of the year for which you are applying.
(If you are over 65 and/or disabled, January 1st ownership and residency are not required.)
2. You must reside at the home as your principal residence on January 1st of that year, and not claim any other
property as homestead.
3. Only individual homeowners (not corporations or other entities) may receive a homestead exemption.
4. A homestead can be a house, condominium or a manufactured home. It can include up to 20 acres, if the land is
also owned by the homeowner and used as a yard, or for another purpose related to the residential use of the home.
5. You must apply between January 1st and April 30th of the year for which you want the exemption.

How do homeowners apply?
(available on the websites of most county appraisal districts, or at the Texas Comptroller’s website at
2. Include a copy of your DRIVER’S LICENSE or IDENTIFICATION CARD from the Texas Department of Public Safety
at www.txdps.state.tx.us. The address MUST MATCH the homestead address.

For more information, contact your local county appraisal district office at links below, or visit Texas Comptroller .

Burnet County  
Hays County 
Llano Central 
Travis County 
Williamson County